Customer Resource Center
/
Getting Started
/
System Admin Guide: People Management

System Admin Guide: People Management

Learn how to manage your Workplace users from the Admin Panel.


Addng users
Adding users
For a full guide on adding users, visit the Technical Resources.
Go to the People page of the Admin Panel. This is where you'll be able to add your users. You can add users to your Workplace in three ways:
Set your invite preferences
Set your invite preferences
Choose from the following admin invite settings to control who can join your Workplace:
  • Only people who are invited can join: meaning that others can only join if invited by an admin or an active user.
  • Anyone from the following email domains can join: meaning anyone from a verified or allow listed domain can join without being invited.
Any user can either add or request to add a new employee depending on your access request settings. Admins can choose from three access request settings to choose how new users are approved to join your Workplace:
  • Admins must approve all requests to join this Workplace: Any invite sent by a non-admin must be approved by an administrator.
  • Automatically approve requests from these email domains: Choose this option if you want to make your Workplace open to any person with a corporate email address from any of the domains you verified or allow listed.
  • Automatically approve all requests: Any new user can join Workplace without admin approval.
Profile fields
Profile fields
Profile fields are critically important to setting your Workplace up for success. Workplace automatically requires certain fields such as name, job title, and team, but we recommend you fill out more profile fields in order to use the following Workplace features to their full potential:
  • Organize your community into People Sets, which system administrators can then assign to groups to automatically add and remove members.
  • Give group admins the ability to set group membership rules for their own groups without help from a system admin. These group membership rules automate adding and removing members based on profile information. Learn more about automatic group membership here.
  • Set up your Org Chart, so that everyone can easily find the right people to talk to and new employees can get a feel for the structure of your organization.
  • Send surveys out to the right people using People Sets.
You can go to the Settings page of the Admin Panel to toggle on profile fields that you’d like to include for your community members. You’ll also be able to select how these profiles can be edited. You have a few options:
  • Cloud Identity Provider: If you set up this integration, any changes to profile information managed in your Cloud Identity Provider will be reflected in Workplace.
  • Admin Only: Only admins with access can edit this profile field manually or via spreadsheet upload.
  • Profile owner: Individuals will be able to update this profile field for themselves. Admins will also be able to edit this profile field for others.
Once you’ve defined which profile fields should be filled out for your Workplace community, you have a few ways to add that information to Workplace:
  • Connect Workplace to your Cloud Identity Provider. This will effectively bring all of the profile information you have stored in your Cloud Identity Provider into Workplace. If you don’t have the profile fields you defined filled out in your Cloud Identity Provider, you may still want to use a spreadsheet. You also won’t be able to manually overwrite any fields that are managed by your Cloud Identity Provider.
  • Manually by uploading a spreadsheet: Go to the People page of the Admin Panel and import a CSV using the template provided.
  • Manually by updating employee information one-by-one: You can do this from the People page of the Admin Panel. Click on the on the right of each employee’s name and select Edit Person’s Details.
Deactivating users
Deactivating users
You can deactivate users from the People page of the Admin Panel. Users who are deactivated will be pulled out of their groups four days after deactivation and their profile and content will be significantly downranked. Their old posts, however, will remain so you won't lose this information when someone's account is deactivated.
Contact Direct Support if you'd like to permanently delete an account. Deleting accounts means that all data and posts associated with them are lost. We recommend deactivating accounts rather than deleting them so you don't lose important content.
Admin roles
Admin roles
As a system admin, you have the ability to assign admin roles to your colleagues from the Administrators section of the Admin Panel. There are four other kinds of admin roles:
Visit the Technical Resources for a full guide on admin roles.
  • Analysts can run reports to track adoption and content. Anyone can be an analyst, but we recommend assigning this role to a member of your Workplace implementation team.
  • Account Moderators can see/edit profiles, create users, and deactivate users. This role would be ideal for a member of your Support Team.
  • Content Moderators can see all groups, can delete groups, and can moderate content. Content Moderators are typically members of the HR Team.
  • Custom Roles can be created based on your needs.